The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has Published the names of Winners and Rep-Elects in the February 25th general election.

Seven Rep-Elects from the All Progressives Congress (APC) and One(1) from the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) in the last national assembly elections are expected to receive their certificates of return between today and tomorrow.

They are Tunji-Ojo Olubunmi (APC) in Akoko Northeast and Northwest, Adesida Abiodun Cornelius (APC) in Akure South and North, Aderin, Ojogo Donald Kimikanboh (APC )in Ilaje and Ese-odo, Akingbaso Festus Olarewaju (PDP) in Idanre and Ifedore.

INEC’S Winners list

Others are Adefiranye Ayodele Festus (APC) in Ile-oluji-Oke-igbo and Odigbo, Odimayo Okunjimi John (APC) in Okitipupa and Irele, Makinde Abiola Peter (APC) in Ondo east and Ondo west, as well as Adelegbe Oluwatimehin Emmanuel(APC ) in Owo and Ose federal Constituencies.

The electoral body however excluded Akoko Southeast and Southwest Federal constituency in the winners list, with a ‘Court Order’ Remark, despite declaring him winner and presenting the original result sheets to him shortly after he was declared winner.

A federal high court sitting in Akure had disqualified Adefarati after, declaring the APC Primary election in the federal constituency null and void.

Mr. Segun Ategbole and Dr. John Adanike, who were aspirants in the primary election had approached the court, alleging infractions and seeking to be declared winners.

The Candidate of the Zenith Labor Party (ZLP) in the federal constituency, Mr. Ogunleye Emmanuel Teloye also approached the court with an originating summons, seeking the disqualification of the APC from participating in the general election, over the Party’s failure to conducts it’s primary election, before 180 days to the general election.

The court, in the judgement delivered by Justice T.B Adegoke however held that the APC cannot put something on nothing and expect it to stand.

Adegoke said APC has no candidate for House of Representatives in 2023 Election, as no valid Primary Election was held by the Party.

She said APC is restrained from conducting any Primary election as the window has closed, having been shorter than 180 days allowed by the Electoral Act 2022.

The judge also said INEC is restrained from accepting the name of the 3rd Defendant(APC), the Plaintiffs(Mr. Segun Ategbole and John Adanike) or any name whatsoever from APC

She added that the 3rd Defendant (Mr. Gboyega Adefarati) is restrained from parading himself as the candidate of APC for the February 25th, 2023 Election.

Credit: Nigeriancable

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This error message is only visible to WordPress admins

Error: No feed found.

Please go to the Instagram Feed settings page to create a feed.

%d bloggers like this: